2015 Musical Advent Calendar (Dec. 4): Mistletoe

Okay. Fine. Whatever. I am aware Justin Bieber has a Christmas song.

After MULTIPLE comments from people who are just HILARIOUS, I am putting up the Bieb’s holiday offering, “Mistletoe.” An original song released in 2011, it fits my rules, so FINE, here, have it.

Fair warning: As a 2011 song, this is pre-(allegedly)-decent Justin Bieber. It’s the song that answers the question “Hey, what if that one Jason Mraz song was about Christmas?” It essentially has one lyric: “Kiss me underneath the mistletoe,” although I think a caught a “shawty” in there as well. It is well-scrubbed, unoffensive, and fleeting, and that’s as much as you’re getting out of me.

Here it is.

PUT IT TO THE TEST!

  1. Does it mention Christmas by name? Yes, once. These lyrics are like a checklist: “Reindeer,” “Santa,” “Wise Men,” and even “Chestnuts” also receive a mention. Justin Bieber loves chestnuts.
  2. Are there bells in it? Yes, fairly incessantly.
  3. Is it jolly? I think I’m being objective when I say no. I’ll grant it’s catchy, but I don’t think it’s any more merry than a typical Bieber tune.

Just to be fair, I actually kinda DO like Bieber’s “Santa Claus is Coming to Town,” which autoplayed after this on YouTube, but it might just be because it’s got a breakdancing Santa and Bieber’s in full Dickensian Steampunk garb.

Number four is down! As always, you can check out the full list here, and feel free to hit me up with your suggestions in the comments or on Twitter at @thebobthe.

Leave a Reply

