2015 Musical Advent Calendar (Dec. 3): Sometimes You Have to Work on Christmas

Busy day today, so this one almost got by me, but have no fear – it’s Christmas Music Time!

I’m putting up another recommendation, this one from my college pal Jordan: “Sometimes you have to work on Christmas” (2004) by Harvey Danger. I’d never heard this one, but it’s a great story and captures the experience of working on Christmas pretty accurately. I’ve done stints at newspapers and Walmart, and this captures the Suck pretty well. It’s not a downer, just resigned.

Wikipedia tells me this was written for a 1998 release, but it didn’t come out until 2004, so it fits the “original song of the 21st century” rule.

(also, Jordan points out it could be taken as mildly NSFW, but nothing to get worked up about)

And now we run the numbers!

  • Does it mention Christmas by name? Yep, very specific on that one.
  • Are there bells in it? I thought so, but it’s just the cymbals. Good cymbals though.
  • Is it jolly? I would not say so, but things pick up at the end.

Not exactly a song you’ll be singing door-to-door, but a nice take on the holiday. I’ll keep it on my list.

That’s three. As always, you can check out the full list here, and feel free to hit me up with your suggestions in the comments or on Twitter at @thebobthe.

Leave a Reply

