Comics and beer map is go!

After a weekend of adding and fiddling, this blog’s map of comic shops and beer joints is done and posted. Have a look by going to the “The Map” page, or by clicking this link. Expect to see these popping up on the blogging and interactive journalism student blogs soon – we’ll be doing some activities focused on the location-pegged updating (e.g., Foursquare) that’s being touted as the big thing for 2010.

It’s necessarily focused on Western PA, but I’ve tried to fill in all the spots I can remember having visited. The only rule was that to be mapped, I have to have been to the place. As I go to more places, the map will acquire more points (color key included on the map page). The next addition I want to make is adding links to points that I’ve written up in the blog.

This year I’ll be making trips to Chicago, Denver, and Portland, OR, which are all pretty fantastic beer cities, so I’ll be making some good additions. I’m also going to be in Columbia, MO, where I’ll be hitting the new Broadway Brewery (and maybe some other spots between here and there, since we’re driving), and of course Pittsburgh and WV still have lots of locations to try. In addition to comics and beer (including both breweries and good beer bars), I’m mapping good diners and book stores.

I hope the visual mapping of this is interesting and useful, and if you’ve got suggestions for the places I’ll be going, I’d love to hear them.

2 thoughts on “Comics and beer map is go!

    • About 110 miles, but it could still happen. Actually, I wouldn’t mind getting back out to Athens proper at some point. Thanks for the mapliment – I’ve been looking for something like this for a long time, so it’s nice that now I can just make one.

Leave a Reply

